Computeractive - Home computing advice in plain English

 

 Simple clear advice in plain English

Search

Search computeractive.co.uk

Go Back   Forums > Home Computing/Enthusiast > Personal Computing
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 22-01-2013, 08:52
Eltheza Eltheza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 3,115
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guilbert53 View Post
Yes I did see that but just wanted to clarify.

If he did contact them wonder where he got the name of the company from.
Perhaps there was a name on the website - see post #3, Guilbert.

Last edited by Eltheza; 22-01-2013 at 08:54.
  #12  
Old 22-01-2013, 18:29
slartismum slartismum is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 0
Default

The company was Norton, who you would think were above this kind of thing. The message had 2 error messages 8506 and 421.
My engineer friend managed to remove the tick, which was not on there previously so that was how we knew that Norton had done it. Nobody else had used the computer except me and I am a dolt at things like that.
  #13  
Old 22-01-2013, 18:53
waddler8 waddler8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,168
Default

I would think that Norton would be above that kind of scaremongering. I'm sure their Customer Relations team would be interested to hear of your experience.

How did you contact them?

They are pretty up front on the website about the charges for live services.

http://uk.norton.com/nortonlive/services.jsp


There's a support document here for those errors: https://www-secure.symantec.com/nort...=1&pvid=f-home
I presume that's the one you went through first?
  #14  
Old 22-01-2013, 22:22
slartismum slartismum is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 0
Default

After following the instruction to Remove and Reinstall nothing changed so I clicked on Norton Live Service. It seemed as though I was using the genuine Norton site so was surprised when all this happened.
No charges were mentioned until the rep asked if I wanted their service engineer to fix the 'error'. He became quite cross when I said that I did not want that as I had a friend who could do it. That was when he ended the call.
  #15  
Old 22-01-2013, 22:27
waddler8 waddler8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,168
Default

Are you still having problems with anything?
  #16  
Old 23-01-2013, 05:31
slartismum slartismum is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 0
Default

Not now, since my friend fixed the computer. If I hadn't been able to contact him I would be in a mess now. As all is well, I suppose I should now leave things alone. Just wanted to let somebody else know about the situation.
Thank you for taking the time to reply.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© Copyright Dennis Publishing Limited licensed by Felden