Computeractive - Home computing advice in plain English

 

 Simple clear advice in plain English

Search

Search computeractive.co.uk

Go Back   Forums > Readers to the Rescue > Internet
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21-01-2013, 19:06
beefy's Avatar
beefy beefy is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 757
Default flash player

what is the correct method to update adobe flash player 11.x (active x) tried updating through secunia psi but it just hangs saying updating has been for the past half hour,should be done another way?
  #2  
Old 21-01-2013, 19:23
alanrwood's Avatar
alanrwood alanrwood is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: N. Yorkshire
Posts: 587
Default

Hi

Go to

http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/welcome/

It will check what version you have installed for both Shockwave and Flash (Click the link for Flash). If you dont have the latest version it will give you the option to install. As part of the install the last choice is to select if you want automatic updates or just be advised.
  #3  
Old 22-01-2013, 10:11
beefy's Avatar
beefy beefy is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 757
Default

would it be safe then to let it update itself, i usually tick to inform me of updates as i am afraid it will install chrome as it tries to on a manual download.
  #4  
Old 22-01-2013, 18:41
Von's Avatar
Von Von is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 281
Default

I now have mine set to update itself , & it's never installed Chrome.
Von
  #5  
Old 27-01-2013, 09:11
Doctor9fan's Avatar
Doctor9fan Doctor9fan is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bolton, Manchester
Posts: 204
Default

I too use secunia & have found the same problem with Flash, Air & shockwave player, it's actually quicker once the scan shows an update is required to visit the Adobe website, download the update & run another scan to tell secunia that the update has been applied; this is what I now do.
  #6  
Old 27-01-2013, 11:40
alanrwood's Avatar
alanrwood alanrwood is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: N. Yorkshire
Posts: 587
Default

Can't think of any reason why an Adobe product would try to install Chrome. Never seen that before.

Bearing in mind that the normally available versions of Flash are not for use with Chrome I can't see the connection. If I'm barking up the wrong tree please let me know.

Chrome uses its own version of Flash (Pepper Flash) and is only updated when a complete update for Chrome is installed either from the offline installer or when it checks for updates in "About Google Chrome"
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© Copyright Dennis Publishing Limited licensed by Felden