Computeractive - Home computing advice in plain English

 

 Simple clear advice in plain English

Search

Search computeractive.co.uk

Go Back   Forums > Readers to the Rescue > Networking
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21-01-2013, 13:58
Peter R Peter R is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 8
Default Unable to log into 192.168.1.2

Because of the good report given in Computer Active I have purchased a ZyXEL WRA2205 wireless extender.
Because I have Virgin router without a WPS button I have to install the extender manually via an Ethernet cable but despite trying several times on three different servers I cannot connect to 192.168.1.2 to complete the installation.
Any ideas will be gratefully received.
I am a 75 year young computer beginner so please keep any answers as simple as possible.
Thanks in anticipation.
Peter R
  #2  
Old 21-01-2013, 15:13
Steel Steel is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,294
Default

Try using 192.168.0.1
  #3  
Old 22-01-2013, 12:05
Marbles65 Marbles65 is offline
Expert Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull
Posts: 8,135
Default

hi,, as Steel has pointed out,,, default gateway is usually 192.168.0.1,,,
to check this type CMD in to start menu search box and select it when offered in results,,,
command prompt will then open,,,,, type in this command and press enter key
ipconfig

you should get something like this,,,,,, take note of the default gateway,,, this is the router's IP on your internal network.

IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

good luck.
  #4  
Old 22-01-2013, 15:11
alanrwood alanrwood is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: N. Yorkshire
Posts: 747
Default

Sometimes a firewall will prevent access. I find this when trying to connect to my NAS box setup page
  #5  
Old 22-01-2013, 18:23
Mr Smooth Mr Smooth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The 'North'
Posts: 1,727
Default

I think there is a misunderstanding, you are trying to log into the Wireless extender and NOT the router.

SO

Your pc or laptop will have an ip address in a different range than the wireless exender so you will be unable to connect to it.

ie your existing router will be 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.168.1.1 or 192.168.2.1 or 192.168.1.254 (these are the most common)

If your router is not 192.168.1.something, your pc will be in a different range.

Also if your router is actually 192.168.1.something, it is possible that it has given out the 192.168.1.2 address to something else on your network (ie your pc or iphone or something) so thats why you cant connect to it.

If your router (and pc) is in another range then you will have to manually connect to the wireless extender by changing the ip address of your pc temporarily to one in the same range (ie 192.168.1.something) so you can connect.
  #6  
Old 23-01-2013, 02:01
MCE2K5 MCE2K5 is offline
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Woodville
Posts: 451
Default

ZyXEL WRE2205 Wireless N300 Range Extender.

Quick Start Guide. ftp://ftp2.zyxel.com/WRE2205/quick_s...RE2205_001.pdf


User Guide. ftp://ftp2.zyxel.com/WRE2205/user_guide/WRE2205_.pdf
  #7  
Old 15-02-2013, 15:09
DeeMc DeeMc is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2
Unhappy Unable to log into 192.168.1.1 because no internet access

Not sure how to originate a message so am piggy backing yours - hope you get it solved! Don't know how to start a thread...Computeractive is easier to read!

My problem using XP and trying to link with Zyxel router NBG5715 [non modem dual band router]
When I am internet direct from computer to the ISP's modem Zyxel [P66or-T1] the IP address is 192.168.1.34 and the default Gateway is 192.168.1.1. When I connect the modem to the router and the router through wired Lan to my computer the IP Address is 192.168.1.33 And all I get is the message that the server is not connected and I don't get access to the internet and have to unplug all over again. All the lights come up on the router indicating connectivity but it still doesn't connect me to the internet. HELP - and could someone tell me how to start - a thread - is it? Thanks Dee [definitely aging!]
I don't know what "automatically parse links in text" means
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© Copyright Dennis Publishing Limited licensed by Felden