Computeractive - Home computing advice in plain English

 

 Simple clear advice in plain English

Search

Search computeractive.co.uk

Go Back   Forums > Readers to the Rescue > Windows Vista, XP and earlier
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15-07-2007, 19:09
anonymous anonymous is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 23
Default Windows Vista and ATI x1550 - failed to find any installable components

Graphics Card: Sapphire Radeon X1550 (512MB DDR2 Memory)
Motherboard: ABIT SG-95 Socket 775
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate
CPU: Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz

Hello, i am having this same problem after trying to install any version of CCC, and i have tried about 50 times!! I have recently changed my motherboard, and before i did so CCC worked without any problems!

Once the setup has extracted, and i begin to install catalyst control center, after the detecting hardware stage of installation i ALWAYS get the same error "Failed to find any installable components, there is no compatable hardware detected". This is extremely annoying as the graphics card is definately there, and i have tried everything under the sun to fix it, as i am a qualified MCDST, and to no avail.

Things i have tried:
- Installing every available version of CCC
- Installing the microsoft driver first
- Installing .net framework 3.0, and also 1.1
- installing under safe mode
- Reinstalled vista from scratch
- removing and reseating the card
- trying to installed the driver only using device manager, and still the installation of the CCC doesnt work.
and NONE of these solutions have worked.

The main reason i want to use CCC is for Tv-Out purposes, as it has more options than windows. I have tried just using windows to extend the desktop but that doesnt work, and i have also installed third party applications such as ATI tray tools and UltraMon but they dont let me use Tv-Out either.

Please help!!
I have tried everything within my knowledge and nothing seems to let me install CCC, or even use tv-out.

Any correspondance is very much appreciated.
Let me know if you need any more info.
  #2  
Old 16-07-2007, 01:37
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows Vista and ATI x1550 - failed to find any installable components

  #3  
Old 16-07-2007, 11:15
calimanco calimanco is offline
Expert Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,285
Default Re: Windows Vista and ATI x1550 - failed to find any installable components

  #4  
Old 17-07-2007, 16:39
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows Vista and ATI x1550 - failed to find any installable components

You seem to have a fixation for duplicate posts lol,to be fair, this question was asked in graphics and sound forum,and as far as i can see has not been answered yet?i would at least think he is entitled to look to other forums for an answer.
  #5  
Old 17-07-2007, 16:41
kia_picanto kia_picanto is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Barnet, London
Posts: 1,253
Default Re: Windows Vista and ATI x1550 - failed to find any installable components

Once you've just got it all attatched, can you not install it with an update from Windows Update?
  #6  
Old 17-07-2007, 16:44
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows Vista and ATI x1550 - failed to find any installable components

Have you the 64 or 32 bit version of ultimate?
  #7  
Old 17-07-2007, 16:51
kia_picanto kia_picanto is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Barnet, London
Posts: 1,253
Default Re: Windows Vista and ATI x1550 - failed to find any installable components

If there was a different (i.e. you try to install the wrong edition), wouldn't that result in an error message identifying the key problem? Or do you mean: 'have you got 32-bit or 64-bit Windows?' Or am I wrong altogether?!
  #8  
Old 17-07-2007, 16:52
kia_picanto kia_picanto is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Barnet, London
Posts: 1,253
Default Re: Windows Vista and ATI x1550 - failed to find any installable components

Sorry, I've just reread your reply and have noticed I was stupid enough to not read it properly; sorry!
  #9  
Old 17-07-2007, 16:58
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows Vista and ATI x1550 - failed to find any installable components

This is the version i am using and everything works for me

7-6_vista64_dd_ccc_wdm_enu_48645 (just google it)

when you go to install this package, right click and run as aministrator

Same for 64/32 bit version of windows

Message was edited by: griff80
  #10  
Old 17-07-2007, 17:57
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows Vista and ATI x1550 - failed to find any installable components

Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Service pack 1 failed stanney Windows Vista, XP and earlier 3 19-08-2008 18:54
SP1 Failed to Fix Several Windows Vista Bugs, Do We Need SP2? Vishal Gupta Windows Vista, XP and earlier 9 28-07-2008 19:50
Sapphire Radeon X1550 - failed to find any installable components mellowfellow69 Graphics and sound 13 17-07-2007 08:40
How do you find out the make and model of components? Chris34 Other Hardware 7 21-02-2007 15:13
how to find out pc components rita williams Windows Vista, XP and earlier 3 29-08-2004 09:23


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© Copyright Dennis Publishing Limited licensed by Felden